The time I faced a shark

After my first triathlon, we spent the afternoon relaxing, fishing and snorkeling at Green Patch beach in Jervis Bay.  Jervis Bay is said to have the whitest sand in the world.  It is definitely a stunning and peaceful beach full of Australian wildlife.

Green Patch Beach before the clouds disappeared
Green Patch Beach before the clouds disappeared

J and his brother decided to fish on the headland while I relaxed on the beach.  After about an hour they were having no luck with fishing so J and I put on our snorkeling gear to see what was happening below the surface.  Swimming out to the headland was very calm and I didn’t see much other than sand and rocks.  Around the reef we saw a few colorful fish but as there wasn’t too much to see we headed back to shore.  About 75 meters from shore, J tapped me and pointed to a small school of white fish.  After about 30 seconds of watching the fish, I looked up slightly and saw this black figure about 5 feet away sitting on the bottom of the ocean.  The figure was about 4 feet long and at first I thought it was a rock similar to the reef but then it shimmied it’s fin and I realized I was staring down a shark! My body freezes for what seems like 5 minutes and then J grabs me saying “get back”  which quickly snapped me back to reality. We swam backwards back to shore as fast as possible while keeping our masks in the water watching behind us!  Once back on land J determines it was a wobbegong shark which is usually harmless to humans.  Any animal that has ‘shark’ as part of it’s name and is nearly as long as I am tall is not an animal I want to be around!  Needless to say I spent the rest of the day lying on the beach reliving the exciting day!

Crimson Rosella in the Green Patch park behind the beach
Crimson Rosella in the Green Patch park behind the beach

Have you had a crazy encounter while snorkeling?

One thought on “The time I faced a shark”

Leave a Reply

